rabbit-ear antenna repair

Today I summoned my inner 80s child and repaired our rabbit ears!  (Antenna-rigging is like a lost art, man.  I love it.)  The cats snapped one completely off, and it’s been messing with our reception.  So I slipped a slightly bent paperclip inside, in the hollow part, then slid the broken end onto the paperclip.  I did this for stability.  Then I wrapped the new joint in tinfoil, because… well, because that’s just what you use on a bad antenna.  Then I gave the whole patched area a solid layer of duct tape.

rabbit ear repair diagram

And it works, reception is MUCH better!  Yeah, I know rabbit ears aren’t expensive, but I figure they’re also not worth the trip to K-Mart.  And I’m so proud of my handiwork!  Let’s see how long this lasts.

-dontfeedthetiki (needs an avocado, an icepick, and your snorkel.  go, we don’t have much time!)
Leave a Reply

