granny squares

Fifteen years ago, my grandmother taught me how to crochet.  And in all that time, I’ve never finished a damn thing.

Well, okay, I made a few scarves, and almost two afghans.  The first afghan was huge-mongous though; perhaps only suitable for use as a trawling net, if one desired to sweep clean the seas.  And while the second one was normal-sized, my grandma got sick of taking me to the yarn store most of the way through, so I more or less had to quit the hobby when my stash ran out.  I stuffed those afghans into trash bags, and carried them around with me from apartment to apartment, never opened, like evidence of a crime.  Until about a month ago.

At that point, I’d been in love with yarn again for about a week.  I was creating the foundation of my new “hoard,” taking stock of what old yarn and miscellaneous useful things I already had, before I could even think of going to Michael’s.  In the process, I decided that raw material was more useful to me than an un-finish-able guilt blanket, and unraveled and re-wound the whole second afghan.  (The first one is valuable if only for comic relief – hey guys, look at my first project ever, har har.  Someday I will take a picture.)  It took me two days, and generated ten or twelve balls.  And I didn’t have a clue what to do with it, but I tucked it away.

On Monday, I decided I could not muck about any longer without knowing how to make a granny square.  I googled a few things, and eventually hit upon this tutorial.

I decided my vintage teenage yarn would be a perfect practice medium.  After a few squares, I decided the equally huge pile of aran fleck would look good as an alternate.  It does, but they’re slightly different weights, so it’s a little wonky.

squares-1

Since this picture was taken, it’s grown to a 6 X 6 square, and I have a loose pile of squares ready to patch in.  I’m crocheting them in whacks, then sewing them together and weaving in the ends, then more crocheting.  It’s not exactly pretty, but it’s growing on me.  And I’m going to finish it just because it’s good practice.

Our couch is gonna look purty…

-dontfeedthetiki (new dog, old tricks)
Leave a Reply

